The Beauty on James Tiptree Jr Awards Honors List

We are very proud to tell you Aliya Whiteley's The Beauty was listed on the James Tiptree Jr Awards 2014 Honor List.

The Tiptree Award is given out every year to reward those women and men who are bold enough to contemplate shifts and changes in gender roles, a fundamental aspect of any society. The award is named for Alice B. Sheldon, who wrote under the pseudonym James Tiptree, Jr. The aim of the award is not to look for work that falls into some narrow definition of political correctness, but rather to seek out work that is thought-provoking, imaginative, and perhaps even infuriating.


The award was selected by a jury of five, which this year was made up of Darrah Chavey (chair), Elizabeth Bear, Joan Haran, Alaya Dawn Johnson, and Amy Thomson. Their chosen winners (there were two this year) share a $1000 dollar prize and also receive a specially commissioned artwork based on their book. Given previous examples, this makes it a particular favourite award of Unsung's.

We would like to congratulate the winners Monica Byrne, with The Girl in the Road, and Jo Walton, with All My Children. Congratulations also go to Kim Curran, with her short story A Woman Out of Time, from another UK-indie, Jurassic London. Size isn't everything.

You can buy The Beauty from Unsung Stories, and